Tags

, , , ,

Most of you know Joel and I have obsessed about having a bull terrier since seeing one on a dog show about 3 years ago.  An English bulldog was the initial pick to be our first dog, but after seeing Rufus we fell (egg)head over heels for the bull terrier.  We were going to wait for all the conditions to be just right for being puppy parents, but we wait no more!

They are commonly known as the “gladiator of canines”, which is exciting for Joel (and I have to admit, that is pretty cool).  But I am most excited about how many owners describe their personalities– Clownish.  I can’t wait to meet a clownish dog!  Joel has always been afraid of clowns, but I am for them. 🙂

Owen (that will be his name) was born December 11, 2008.  He is EXACTLY as we dreamed.  These next 6 weeks will probably feel like an eternity, but I have a feeling once Owen is here, we are in for quite a time. Did I mention they are not recommended for first-time dog owners?  Yep…we’re crazy!

Grandpa

Grandpa

Grandma

Grandma

Mom

Mom

Dad

Dad

Owen (our little rat)

Owen (our little rat)

Owen

Owen

(Those little black ears are making me talk in a high-pitched tone)

Spuds Mackenzie and the Target mascot, Bullseye, are some bull terriers you’ve probably seen before.  Target has been a source of taunt and agony every time I see those cute little gift cards with bull terrier puppies playing pool, rolling on the ground in a hologram, etc.  ……pure torture!

It goes without saying we are beside ourselves!  The amount of posts about Owen henceforth will probably cause all 2 of my readers to abandon my blog all together.  I apologize in advance.

Fitting Song: Anticipation by Carly Simon

